FreeClick here to get a free consultation
from our experts
News &Click here to read recent news &
Our Wage Claim Attorney Profiles
Employee Wins Appeal and Can Now Prosecute Her Minimum Wage Claim
The Oregon wage claim attorneys at Schuck Law, LLC recently won the client/employee the right to proceed on her wrongful deduction and minimum wage claims. The Oregon Circuit Court had previously ruled that because the employee was a union member, she could not proceed on her wrongful deduction and minimum wage claims in Oregon courts. The Oregon Court of Appeals reversed stating the neither Oregon wage and hour law, or the collective bargaining agreement ("CBA") restricted the employee from prosecuting her Oregon wrongful deduction or minimum wage claim in Oregon Courts. (Court of Appeals Opinion). This case helps Oregon employees by providing them with the right to bring a lawsuit and helping them collect wrongfully deducted wages and minimum wages, even where they belong to a union.
2013 Increase to the Oregon Minimum Wage Rate (Minimum Wage Claims)
On January 1, 2013, the Oregon minimum wage rate will increase to $8.95 per hour. (Oregon Minimum Wage Page) If your hourly rate of pay after January 1, 2013 is less than $8.95 per hour, you likely have a minimum wage claim. While it may seem trivial that your Oregon employer or boss did not pay the extra fifteen cents per hour, it is not. Oregon minimum wage law entitles you to a minimum wage civil penalty where an Oregon employer or boss pays less than the minimum wage. This means that you could receive up to $2,148.00 as an Oregon minimum wage civil penalty in addition to the unpaid minimum wages you were due. This is true even if you are only due the extra thirty cents per hour that the minimum wage increased in Oregon. Further, should your employment end, and your Oregon employer or boss did not pay the minimum wage for all hours you worked, you may also be entitled to penalty wages under Oregon law of up to $2,148.00. Thus, Oregon wage law may entitle you to a minimum wage civil penalty and Oregon penalty wages, for total penalties of up to $4,296.00, plus your unpaid minimum wages. Further, Oregon minimum wage law allows employees to recover their costs and attorney fees allowing the attorneys at Schuck Law, LLC to take minimum wage cases on a contingency fee basis---essentially being paid by your Oregon employer to win your Oregon minimum wage case. If your Oregon employer fails to pay a large number of employees (over 40) at the new minimum wage, you could have a class action case for unpaid Oregon minimum wages, and the Oregon minimum wage civil penalties for all the affected employees. (Minimum Wage Class Actions in Oregon) Let the Oregon wage claim attorneys at Schuck Law help you recover the wages and penalties you are due. Call our Wage Claim Attorneys at 360-566-9243 for a free consultation, or submit your facts on this website.
Wage Claim Attorneys.The wage claim lawyers at Schuck Law, LLC regularly prosecute Oregon minimum wage claim lawsuits for employees who were not paid all their minimum wages. Our wage claim attorneys also prosecute class action minimum wage lawsuits for groups of employees who were not paid their minimum wages because of a uniform practice of the employers. (Minimum Wage Class Actions in Oregon) In addition to recovery of minimum wages, and minimum wage civil penalty, an employee may also sue to recover their attorney fees incurred in the prosecution of the minimum wage claim lawsuit. Google+
GoogleBy David Schuck